Blog

Verity Blog

January Crisis Line Counselor Training, Call for Volunteers

VolunteerVerity, Sonoma County’s Rape Crisis & Trauma Center, is now accepting applications for volunteer Crisis Line Counselor/Sexual Assault Advocates and our Winter ’15 Crisis Line training class!

Our volunteer program offers you:

  • Certification as a Sexual Assault Counselor (Penal Code 1035.2)
  • Transferable career experience for those studying Social Sciences, Women’s and Gender Studies, Criminal Justice, Counseling and more!
  • Internship Hours and potential Letters of Recommendations.

Within the 45-hour state certification we provide to you for FREE, you will receive:

  • Awareness of Sexual Assault and Its Effect on Survivors
  • Practical experience in Crisis Intervention and Victim Advocacy
  • Training in Hospital and Legal Accompaniment
  • Training in Community Referrals
  • Networking opportunities with service providers & professionals in & beyond Sonoma County.
  • A sense of community and the reward of making a difference in the lives of others.

In exchange for this FREE training, we ask that applicants commit to a total of at least 180 hours of volunteership, including being able to provide advocacy during medical/forensic examines, Crisis Intervention, and Agency procedure adherence.

To apply:

Click here to download the application and return it via email to intervention@ourverity.org, by fax (707) 545-8136, or by mail to:

Verity Intervention Department
835 Piner Road, Suite D
Santa Rosa, CA 95403

For more information, please contact Contact Erica Azimov, Crisis Intervention Manager at (707) 545-7270 ext. 16

Click on the link to download a CLC Application 

Training Dates for January 2015

Session Dates/time
1 Monday, January 26
6pm-9pm
2 Wednesday, January 28
6pm-9pm
3 Thursday, January 29
6pm-9pm
4 Monday, February 2
6pm-9pm
5 Wednesday, February 4
6pm-9pm
6 Thursday, February 5
6pm-9pm
7 Monday, February 9
6pm-9pm
8 Wednesday, February 11
6pm-9pm
9 Thursday, February 12
6pm-9pm
Monday, February 16
No Training (President’s Day)
10 Wednesday, February 18
6pm-9pm
11 Thursday, February 19
6pm-9pm
12 Monday, February 23
6pm-9pm
13 Wednesday, February 25
6pm-9pm
14 Thursday, February 26
6pm-9pm
15 Monday, March 2
6pm-9pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About the Blog

Learn about what's new at Verity, announcements from our partner organizations, and ideas to help you get involved in fighting sexual violence.
Call our Crisis Line at:
verity help line

24/7 Crisis Line



Newsletter Signup





Email Marketing by VerticalResponse